Oppose House Bill 161

Oppose House Bill 161

February 2, 2018


CALL TO ACTION: Tell the Representatives you are opposed to HB161

Hearing is this Thursday, Feb 8th at 8:30


Oppose House Bill 161


House Bill 161 (State Preemption of the Regulation of Agricultural and Vegetable Seeds) will give the state control of our seeds.


This includes  “cultivation, harvest, … labeling, … testing, … sale, … storage, transportation, distribution, possession, … planting or other uses of agricultural or vegetable seeds.”


HB 161 is an ALEC model bill.  ALEC is comprised of corporations and legislators who introduce corporate-friendly “model” bills across the United States.  Members include the Koch brothers, Bayer-Monsanto, ExxonMobil, Pfizer, State Farm Insurance and others.  Rep. Yvette Harrell (R-Alamogordo) is an ALEC board member.


29 states have passed similar ALEC laws against the will of their citizens.


“…The result is that decisions on what can be grown locally will be taken away from local control and exist exclusively in the state domain… ‘Vegetable seed’ includes the seeds of those crops which are grown in gardens…”

– NM Attorney General’s Office


If you garden, farm or eat, please take action:


  1. HB 161 will be heard this week:

                        Date:  Thursday, Feb. 8th

                        Committee:  State Government/Indian & Veteran Affairs

                        Where:  State Capitol in Santa Fe, Room 309

                        Time:  8:30 am (time the committee starts)


  1. Call or Visit the committee members, and Attend the hearing.  Tell the Representatives you are opposed to HB161, which will give the state sole control over our seeds, gardens, and farms. 


Rep. Georgene Louis (D), Chair      District: 26

  • County: Bernalillo
  • Capitol Phone: 986-4327
  • Capitol Room: 312A
  • Email: louis@nmlegis.gov


Rep. Rodolpho “Rudy” S. Martinez (D),  Vice Chair             District: 39

  • County: Dona Ana, Grant & Sierra
  • Capitol Phone: 986-4248
  • Capitol Room: 206B
  • Email: martinez@nmlegis.gov

San JuanRep. Sharon Clahchischilliage (R)        District: 4

Rep. Yvette Herrell  (R)     ALEC Board Member      District: 51

Rep. D. Wonda Johnson (D)                   District: 5

Rep. Derrick J. Lente (D)                          District: 65

Rep. William “Bill” R. Rehm (R)             District: 31

Rep. Dennis J. Roch (R)                           District: 67

  • County: Colfax, Curry, Harding, Quay, Roosevelt, San Miguel and Union
  • Capitol Phone: 986-4227
  • Capitol Room: 203A
  • Email: denroch@hotmail.com

Rep. G. Andrés Romero (D)                    District: 10





Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.